MRBDC Pomme de Terre Major Watershed General Description

General Description

The Pomme de Terre River Major Watershed is one of the twelve major watersheds of the Minnesota River Basin. It is located in west central Minnesota within Big Stone, Douglas, Grant, Otter Tail, Stevens, and Swift counties. There are 9 municipalities in the watershed of which the city of Morris is the largest. The Pomme de Terre River major watershed area is approximately 875 square miles or 559,966 acres. The watershed is subdivided into 52 minor watersheds. The minor watersheds range in size from 2,524 acres to 40,139 acres with the mean size approximately 10,769 acres. Agriculture is the predominant land use within the watershed.

The Pomme de Terre River and its tributaries, public and private drainage systems, lakes and wetlands, define the drainage network of the major watershed. The Pomme de Terre River flows from the north to its confluence with the Minnesota River near the city of Appleton in Swift County. The total distance of the stream network is 751 miles of which 616 miles are intermittent streams and 135 miles are perennial streams.

Map of Major Watershed 23

View, print or save PDF file of the Pomme de Terre River Major Watershed (1,030 K)
  Page Index Next Page

Return to